poem to read when have a cold

poetryinmedicine

Bleh. I have a cold so don’t have energy for much writing. Was lying in bed complaining to myself that there is a dearth of poems about being sick, then realized I was wrong–I have an excellent anthology in my house called Poetry in Medicine: An Anthology of Poems About Doctors, Patients, Illness, and Healing, edited by Michael Salcman.  I don’t have much energy for actually reading poetry either, but this light-verse one that I found there by Ogden Nash is just about the speed of someone suffering from:

THE COMMON COLD

Go hang yourself, you old M.D.!
You shall no longer sneer at me.
Pick up your hat and stethoscope,
go wash your mouth with laundry soap;
I contemplate a joy exquisite
In never paying you for your visit.
I did not call you to be told
My malady is a common cold.

Read rest of poem at Poem Hunter. 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑