Mark Strand’s collages

MS-5591.jpg

Mark Strand, Collages (2011-2014) – Arthur Solway – Poetry – 6/9/17

“…And while Mark didn’t much care to acknowledge any connection between the collages and his poems, as [Francine] Prose also points out, ‘It is clear that they are made by the same person—elegant, seemingly effortless, employing an economy of means in which to create something astonishingly beautiful and intimate.’”

imgB028.jpg

This poem is mentioned in the article:

When I Turned a Hundred, by Mark Strand

I wanted to go on an immense journey, to travel night and day into the unknown until, forgetting my old self, I came into possession of a new self, one that I might have missed on my previous travels. But the first step was beyond me.

Read rest of poem 

img010.jpg

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

