Does Social Media help or hurt writers?

giphy.gif

HOW TO BE A WRITER ON SOCIAL MEDIA: ADVICE FROM ROXANE GAY, ALEXANDER CHEE, CELESTE NG, AND ADAM M. GRANTLiterary Hub – July 10, 2017

At first, people told me I was wasting my time. That I should be writing more. But in 2009 I knew it would matter when I had an editor at a literary magazine tell me about my traffic on their site. “With the print issue, we don’t know what people read,” he said. “With online, we know what people read.” He then asked me what I’d done to promote the story in his magazine. “I posted about it on my WordPress blog,” I said, “and then I shared it on Twitter, Facebook and Tumblr.” He nodded. The writing, as it were, was on the wall, or, online really. Up until then, people had been acting as if literary writers didn’t need to do this. After this, it became an expectation. -Alexander Chee

One thought on “Does Social Media help or hurt writers?

Add yours

  1. If you ask me: Analogue always is better. Face to face especially. And what concerns the so called SOCIAL MEDIA – I don’t think they’re social at all.

    Just today I received two postcards and a letter in my REAL postbox.

    You can’t beat the smell of a real letter that’s travelled thousands of miles …

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

