Dailies 7/8/17: IT IS BITTER, BITTER /immigrants, reincarnation, the day the world is forecast to end and does not

in_the_desert_part_2_by_shadow_nexus-1.jpg

imgres-9

Stephen Crane – In the Desert

In the desert
I saw a creature, naked, bestial,

Read rest of poem 

 

versedailylogo

Seth Michelson – Cosmopolitical Fugue 

Syrian immigrants smash on the rocks
off Lesbos where Sappho sang Don’t shatter
my heart with fierce pain
, the line
looping in my head as I wake from eye surgery:

Read rest of poem 

writersalm_v_logo_200

Marie Howe – Walking Home

Everything dies, I said. How had that started?
A tree? The winter? Not me, she said.

And I said, Oh yeah? And she said, I’m reincarnating.
Ha, she said, See you in a few thousand years!

Read rest of poem 

lvl2_logo

K.A. Hays – On the Day the World Is Forecast to End and Does Not

So night’s been poured and drunk.
The migrained clouds stumble and blanch.
An ornery sky. A boring sun-slant on dingy snow.

Read rest of poem

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

