The Poetry Foundation has a new website! Plus here’s a good poem re: pets

giphy.gif

(Poetry Diary 272 – 7/3/17) Feeling like I’m going to have a heart attack because I just went to the Poetry Foundation’s website and found that it’s been redone (it’s beautiful!!!!!! Check it out!!!!!!!)  but that the search engine isn’t working, so one can’t look for poems via keyword and by doing so make lovely discoveries.  I assume this will be fixed later on this week, but….AAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR.

Later note: looks like the engine is working on some browsers and some not. They’re looking into it. Whooooooo! And they got back to me right away when I wrote them about the problem.  What a great website!!!!!!!!!!!!  I love the Poetry Foundation!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In the meantime, the Poets.org search engine is totally working!  I was looking for poems about animals, as I spent some of the weekend freaking out re: thinking I’d have to have my cat euthanized after a recent emergency trip to the animal hospital. Thankfully, he’s better now. And here’s a piece that muses on animals & humans:

We have no choice in the bodies that hold us

Holly Amos

Thing of dirt and water and oxygen marked by thinking
and reacting and a couch
one may or may not be permitted
to sleep on. He may not permit me
to touch him or to take the bone
from his mouth, but he does, and that’s a choice

Read rest of poem 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

