Dailies 6/29/17: Toughen up! A nocturn for a botched youth, “Blackness” after the last election, & seeing one’s parents kiss

giphy.gif

versedailylogo

Paula Cisewski – Nocturn for a Botched Youth 

Nightmare where I wanted to return
********to childhood, but when I looked

Read rest of poem 

writersalm_v_logo_200

Ann Iverson – Waves and Wet Kisses

I had only seen my parents kiss twice.
The first time after my father’s ear surgery.
I was seven or so, don’t recall the nature of the kiss

Read rest of poem 

imgres-9

Shane McCrae – America Gives Its Blackness Back To Me

The shadow I had carried lightly has

Been forced upon me now and heavy since

Read rest of poem 

lvl2_logo

Todd Boss – When My Father Says Toughen Up

it’s like the clop of the walnut
block beneath the gavel of the

judge who fits the punishment
to the crime, or like the pop of the

Read rest of poem + 1 more by Boss 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

