“This moist earth is rich and dark/ as chocolate cake.”

giphy.gif
(poetry diary 250-5/8/17) Springtime.  My husband planted vegetable seeds yesterday and we put together a “Dinosaur Garden” of prehistoric plants with our son. Since many others are doing similar projects right now I’m looking for poems about planting. And here’s one:
Planting Peas
Linda M. Hasselstrom
It’s not spring yet, but I can’t
wait anymore. I get the hoe,
pull back the snow from the old
furrows, expose the rich dark earth.
I bare my hand and dole out shriveled peas,
one by one.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

