swimming with turtles

giphy.gif
(poetry diary  231-4/9/17) I’ve taken up swimming again. I now go to a local YMCA pool, but I grew up swimming in a lake, taking care not to bump into its own local snapping turtle….
Swimming With A Hundred Year Old Snapping Turtle
Freya Manfred 
I spy his head above the waves,
big as a man’s fist, black eyes peering at me,
until he dives into darker, deeper water.
Yesterday I saw him a foot from my outstretched hand,

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

