Dailies 3/22/17: spiderwebs, aging, fleeing Chairman Mao, & archival footage of a necessary outburst

giphy-2.gif

imgres-11

Albert Goldbarth – Forces

It’s different for the spiderweb:
the only architecture
in a five-block radius not
undone by yesterday’s tornado.

Read rest of poem + one other by Goldbarth 

imgres-8

Wendell Berry – VII.

What a wonder I was
when I was young, as I learn
by the stern privilege
of being old: how regardlessly

Read rest of poem 

 

images.jpg

Anne Cecelia Holmes – Archival Footage of a Necessary Outburst

It’s hard to know what lives
in my hands when I’m not paying
attention to who I claim to be.
I never said I wanted any of your
swagger because I don’t. You have

Read rest of poem

imgres-9

Chen Chen – First Light

I like to say we left at first light
with Chairman Mao himself chasing us in a police car,
my father fighting him off with firecrackers,
even though Mao was already over a decade

Read rest of poem 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

