7cceed73b392d41c5e7d715935774174.jpg

versedailylogo

Tim Amsden – Even Rottweilers Sing 

The grass doesn’t love me though I nursed it, fussed over it in
the night like baby asparagus. Even trees show flexibility but I
can’t be expected to twitter with cowbirds, give doves milk,
carry nuns in my brain. I’m from Wichita, for God’s sake.

Read rest of poem 

imgres-8

Ogden Nash – For Frances

Geniuses of countless nations
Have told their love for generations
Till all their memorable phrases
Are common as goldenrod or daisies.

Read rest of poem 

imgres

Mahtem Shiferraw – Nomenclatures of Invisibility

My ancestors are made with water—
blue on the sides, and green down the spine;

when we travel, we lose brothers at sea
and do not stop to grieve.

Read rest of poem 

imgres

L.S. Klatt – The Wilderness After Which 

 

We went back to our quiet lives, & displaying our marigold spirit we prepared for the strangers that would inhabit Cape Cod. Look at us in our handsome waistcoats, they said as they arrived, graybeards with ruffled collars.

Read rest of poem