Dailies 3/9/17: reading someone. Plus a pigeon feather, a grandmother, and an Andalusian dog

giphy

imgres

Tony Hoagland – Field Guide

Once, in the cool blue middle of a lake,
up to my neck in that most precious element of all,

I found a pale-gray, curled-upwards pigeon feather
floating on the tension of the water

Read rest of poem 

versedailylogo

Michelle Reed – For Ruby 

Somewhere in Michigan,
my grandmother is dying. I’m learning
to sew again. I pull the thread
through the needle’s eye and begin

Read rest of poem 

imgres-8

Pablo Medina – The Andalusian Dog Finds Answers

God likes to be played like a piano.
Dawn glows with sailors dancing in the eye of a storm
by the river of black water. These days
things make sense under the green and yellow
and brown sky of Granada and I wear a tie as penance

Read rest of poem 

 

imgres

Wendy Xu – Commons

 

If I begin speaking to you now, you will have expectations

You read me, as I read to you, and am read by you

The problem with our reading is that, objectively, I do not control you

You observe me as I walk my body to take my place here before you

Read rest of poem 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

