51741890.jpg
This book is getting a lot of good press from mainstream publications.  Here’s a description of the project in Parker’s own words, from a New York Magazine interview: Poet Morgan Parker on Why Beyoncé Is a Metaphor for Every Black Woman – Tahirah Hairston – 2/22/17
“In the book, Beyoncé is every black woman — she’s me, she’s you. Her name is this kind of stand-in for everything that we see and are and how folks see us. That’s why I’m able to have her at the Super Bowl, but also have her talking to my therapist; she can play all of these roles, and in that way there is this interchangeability that becomes interesting: what’s the difference between me and Beyoncé? The flexibility and slipperiness of using her name to be a stand-in for anyone was compelling to me. It’s really a way for me to get at the fact that black women are so different and can be looked at in so many different kinds of ways, and somehow by using just one name it points to that kind of multiplicity.”
Poem on Beyoncé’s Birthday
Morgan Parker
Drinking cough syrup from a glass shaped
Like your body I wish was mine but as dark
As something in my mind telling me
I’m not woman enough for these days
Colored with reddish loathing
Read rest of poem in the Amazon preview for There Are More Beautiful Things Than Beyoncé
*******************************
Let Me Handle My Business, Damn
Morgan Parker 
Took me awhile to learn the good words
make the rain on my window grown
and sexy now I’m in the tub holding down
that on-sale Bordeaux pretending
to be well adjusted I am on that real
jazz shit sometimes I run the streets