200-7.gif

(poetry diary 138) I’m looking for poems about Republicans (I was one myself for a few years–I switched parties because I was frustrated by the lack of tolerance of diversity of belief in Liberal friends & acquaintances & wanted to experience politics from another side…I switched back before the last election out of shock re: the extreme prejudices in that party as well.) Last night I found the following intriguing piece, which I appreciate esp for its thoughtfulness. The author is an “intellectual historian” & the author of books such as Doubt: A History, The End of the Soul: Scientific Modernity, Atheism, and Anthropology in France, and The Happiness Myth: The Historical Antidote to What Isn’t Working Today.

Split
Jennifer Michael Hecht
We speak of rebellion when the kid
is a hellion and the folks are as mild
as a spoon.
Likewise Republicans
born of freethinking lesbians
seem like reactors, turncoats
on how they were raised.
Let me offer another
concatenation
of this explanation. Think of your mother