200.gif

imgres-9

Poem for My Son in the Car – Jennifer K. Sweeney

The wipers sweep two overlapping hills
on the glass, we are quiet against the
squeaky metronome as we often are
before the concerns of the day well up.
Today: Is it dark inside my body?

Read rest of poem 

imgres-7

The Princess of War, The Queen of Nowhere – Bruce Bennett

 

Our grandson, aged two,
announced that my wife,
who is Mayor of our village,
is “The Princess of War,
The Queen of Nowhere.”

Read rest of poem 

imgres-2

The Past- Kim Bridgford 

The past is what you’re looking at:
Sepia, historical, and lost.
Emotions mold and shatter it.

Read rest of poem 

imgres

The Woodcutter Changes His Mind – David Budbill

When I was young, I cut the bigger, older trees for firewood, the ones
with heart rot, dead and broken branches, the crippled and deformed

Read rest of poem