Caravaggio, Raising of Lazarus 1608.jpg

imgres-1

The Raising of Lazarus – Matthew Olzmann
                                           Caravaggio
Oil on Canvas
380 cm x 275 cm

 

To me, he still looks dead: Lazarus, fallen,
limbs rigid like planks of broken balsa wood,
resting cold, like a dead man,
in the hold of another’s arms, head bent back,
as if unable to support itself, or maybe

Read rest of poem 

imgres

Evergreen Cemetery – Margaret Hasse

After a day of driving, I’m tired.
I turn off at a small cemetery
with Evergreen scrolled
on a wrought iron arch.

Read rest of poem 

imgres

Folio – Kimberly Johnson

The king’s in rags, the robe of his state unseamed
*************Like a flimsy
 *******Map over-and overfolded.

Read rest of poem 

imgres-2

from Please Bury Me in This – Allison Benis White

 

Now my neighbor through the wall playing piano, I imagine, with her eyes closed.

When she stops playing, she disappears.

Read rest of poem