200.gif

(poetry diary 113) I’ve been meaning to put up a link to this Rattle “Poets Respond” poem for a while–I was going to during Election Week, which was when it was first published, but when I went to put it up (after the election) I found it too sad. I’m putting it up now, though, as a good document of how many of us were feeling before November 8.  The poem I’m putting up right afterward, dated December 4, offers a contrast. What a difference a few weeks can make.

MY MOTHER EXPLAINS WHY SHE NEVER VOTED

Meryl Stratford

Silence can be a plan
rigorously executed
—Adrienne Rich

Your father said it had to be a Democrat
but I liked Eisenhower, the look of him,
what he did during the war.
Your father was so sure of everything.
How could I be sure of anything,
knowing my vote would cancel his
or double it? It wasn’t worth the argument.
*****************************************

OPEN SEASON

Kate Peterson

There’s a hum at the window,
rain or wind through the yellow death
of autumn. Somewhere a doe is lifting her soft face
in a clearing, chewing the red skin of an apple
******************************************

And also see (from Rattle’s “Poets Respond”):

PROTEST SONG

Timothy Liu

Do I have to
comfort you,
little ones?