Bless Their Hearts

200w.gif

(poetry diary 100) I should be looking for Advent poems today, but instead I’m still looking through lists of Thanksgiving poems. (My family had “Thanksgiving 2” at our house last night….) 

I spent a Thanksgiving in South Carolina once, which was where I first heard the phrase 

Bless Their Hearts
Richard Newman 

At Steak ‘n Shake I learned that if you add

“Bless their hearts” after their names, you can say
whatever you want about them and it’s OK.
My son, bless his heart, is an idiot,

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

