200-6.gif

(poetry diary 63) Today I spent a couple of hours in the Microtext Reading Room (“MRR,” as we call it here) of the university library I work at. While in between helping patrons I went searching for microfilm-related poems online.

This lead to a cool discovery. I will have to verify this w/newspapers and other documents from that time, (perhaps by using the microfilm in our MRR, 🙂 )but apparently there is a poem on the moon! Written by James Dillet Freeman, it was printed on microfiche and left there in a time capsule by the astronaut James B Irwin. This was on the 1971 Apollo 15 mission.

The poem is not a great “literary” piece, but…it’s a poem, and the fact that it’s ON THE MOON (on the moon!!!!!) is pretty cool.

I Am There

James Dillet Freeman

Do you need Me ?
I am there.
You cannot see Me, yet I am the light you see by.
You cannot hear Me, yet I speak through your voice.
You cannot feel Me, yet I am the power at work in your hands.

Read rest of poem 

Freeman is known as the “Poet Laureate of the Moon,” as a prayer that he wrote called “Prayer for Protection” was also taken to the moon on the first flight there by Edwin E. Aldrin. Read more about the history of that prayer here.