trouble with math

200(poetry diary 50) I posted this Jane Kenyon poem once before,  but I’ve been thinking of it a lot recently because it expresses some of my fears about my son and his friends and the over-emphasis on homework and standardized testing and “intervention” in math and other subjects…in kindergarten. Seems like this might be an excellent way of quashing the love of learning at an early age.

Here’s Jane Kenyon’s story of a similar quashing:

Trouble with Math in a One-Room Country School

Jane Kenyon

The others bent their heads and started in.
Confused, I asked my neighbor
to explain—a sturdy, bright-cheeked girl
who brought raw milk to school from her family’s

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

