a promise so splendid it made me give up math

200.gif
(poetry diary 48) Been thinking a lot about math, recently, because my kid’s school experiences w/it are throwing me back into memories of dealing with it/hating it in school.  So I’m trying to find good poems about math now, hoping they might help.
As a start, this funny one is sort of about math, though it’s really more about poetry:
Prof of Profs
For Allison Hogge, in memory of Brian Wilkie
I was a math major—fond of all things rational.
It was the first day of my first poetry class.
The prof, with the air of a priest at Latin mass,
told us that we could “make great poetry personal,”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

