Oh, let there be nothing on earth but laundry

200-20.gif

(poetry diary 19)  How often do we see clothes drying on lines outside anymore?

I guess this depends on where one lives.  I don’t see it often in my area….Even though my own family lacks a working dryer, we still dry our clothes on a rack in a spare room as we don’t have time to hang clothes during the day. Oy.

I love “Love Calls Us to the Things of This World” by Richard Wilbur, both for its beauty and for the nostalgia. Wilbur writes

                                                  The soul shrinks
    From all that it is about to remember,
From the punctual rape of every blessèd day,
And cries,
               “Oh, let there be nothing on earth but laundry,
Nothing but rosy hands in the rising steam
And clear dances done in the sight of heaven.”
My own soul definitely does not say that re: laundry, knowing the work I have to put into it without the pay-off of clothes line angels.  I do love the poem, though….
=

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

